gavel.gif (3462 bytes) Martin elected president
of Phila. Trial Lawyers

George Martin, founding partner and current managing partner of the Philadelphia workers’ compensation firm of Martin, Banks, Pond, Lehocky & Wilson, was elected President of the Philadelphia Trial Lawyers Association. A graduate of New York University School of Law, Mr. Martin has been active in the Philadelphia Trial Lawyers Association, serving on the Board of Directors since 1991. He is the first attorney concentrating his practice in workers’ compensation to serve as president in PTLA’s 40-year history. He is also active in PaTLA, where he serves on the Board of Governors and founded the Workers’ Compensation Section of that organization. Mr. Martin has served as a Council Member of the Pennsylvania Bar Association Workers’ Compensation Section since 1987 and has served that organization as Chair Person, Chair Elect, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

Mr. Martin devotes considerable time to continuing legal education, and has lectured on behalf of the Philadelphia and Pennsylvania Trial Lawyers Associations, the Philadelphia and Pennsylvania Bar Associations, the Pennsylvania Defense Institute, and numerous other organizations. He is co-author of the 1992, 1994, and 1996 editions of The Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Practice and Procedure, published by the Pennsylvania Bar Institute.

Other officers elected by PTLA were Kenneth M. Rothweiler of Weinstein, Goss, Schleifer, Eisenberg, Winkler & Rothweiler, president-elect; Steven G. Wigrizer of Wapner, Newman & Wigrizer, vice president; Stephen C. Josel of Josel, Feenane & Gaier, P.C., secretary; Shanin Specter of Kline & Specter, P.C., assistant secretary; Roberta D. Pichini of Litvin, Blumberg, Matusow & Young, treasurer; Margaret A. Barry of Anapol, Schwartz, Weiss, Cohan, Feldman & Smalley, assistant treasurer; and Frank G. Canty of Frank G. Canty, P.C., parliamentarian.

Elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors were Molly Peckman, Samuel H. Pond, Ronald I. Rosen, Richard S. Seidel, Mark W. Tanner, Michael F. Barrett, and Sol H. Weiss.

Elected to two-year terms were Steven M. Dranoff, Margaret M. Koral, Ronald A. Kovler, James J. McEldrew, III, Stephen E. Raynes, Harry M. Roth, and Nancy J. Winkler.

Elected to one-year terms were Mitchell S. Clair, David C. Federman, Dale G. Larrimore, Mark J. LeWinter, Donald C. Marino, Robert J. Mongeluzzi, and Mitchell J. Shore.

Presidential appointments were Howell K. Rosenberg, William P. Fedullo, Bruce M. Ginsburg, Thomas R. Kline, Marvin Lundy, Robert E. Paul, and Alison F. Soloff.

Other PTLA members serving on the Board of Directors are Richard M. Golomb, immediate past president; Lenard A. Cohen, editor of the Verdict; John M. Dodig, education coordinator; Sayde J. Ladov, fund raising coordinator; and Marc P. Weingarten, comptroller. Serving as Board Members Emeriti are Jay I. Bomze, A. Harold Datz, and Linda F. Rosen.

Back to PaTLA